At Willis ISD we are trying very hard to improve our attendance. Regular Attendance to school is very important. Regular attendance lets your child know
you value a good education, but the most important motivating factor is you, the parent. Our attendance policy is outlined below.
Students are tardy after 8:25 AM.
Willis ISD Attendance Complaint Procedure:
Each Absence Parents should call or send a note to report an absence.
If there is no parent contact by telephone or note within 3 days of absence the absence will be unexcused.
3 Unexcused Absences the parent will receive a Warning of Citation Letter from the campus indicating that if the student is absent without an excuse for 10 or more days or parts of days in a six-month period OR 3 or more absences in a 4 week period that:
(1) the parent is subject to prosecution for thwarting school attendance, and
(2) the student is subject to prosecution for failing to attend school.
3 Unexcused Absences The District will file a truancy proceeding against the parent and/or student in court.
within a 4 week period OR 10 unexcused absences
** The District will accept only eight (8) excuse notes from a parent for the entire school year**
State compulsory Attendance Law Truancy is defined by Sect. 51.03 (b) (2) Texas Family code:
In Texas, a child between the ages of 6 (on or before September 1st) and 18, or a child who is enrolled in Pre-K, Headstart, or Kindergarten will be required to attend school every day. Children must be in attendance 90 percent of the days the class is offered to receive credit for the class, unless the Attendance Committee appointed by the school board gives the student credit because absences were due to extenuating circumstances. A child who misses more than 18 days in an academic year, or a class period, whether excused or unexcused, risks the possibility of class failure. Please send a note with your child upon their return to school. Our greatest desire is to have your child healthy and in class every day.